News / Media
  • Home
26
03
2020

Darren McGrath

MotorsportsTV Supersport

NameDarren McGrath
NicknameMcGrath
Age and Birthday28 – 26/07/1990
Hometown/StateCounty Leitrim in Ireland. Have lived in Perth past 10 years
FamilyMy parents, 2 sisters and 3 brothers live in Ireland. I live with my partner Lucia in Perth
Describe yourself in 10 wordsCreative, passionate, generous, determined, cheerful, stubborn, funny, genuine, lunatic and positive
What is your worst habit?biting nails
What was your debut year in ASBK?2020
What bike/team/class are you competing in in 2020? Sponsors?Supersport 600, ZX6R Kawasaki
What does your training regime look like as you prepare for ASBK 2020?Gym three times a week.
Balancing gym and work
Worst thing about training? What exercise do you hate doing?The worst thing about training is the thought of it. Once I get started I’m flying.
I hate running
Fun or interesting fact about yourself?I work full-time FIFO and own and manage my own company on the side and still find the time to race. And I only started racing in 2019
What’s your favourite thing about ASBK?Watching and competing with the best riders in Australia
Favourite ASBK track?Phillip Island
Who is going to be your strongest competition in 2020?Myself!
What are your expectations for 2020?Improve my riding skills
What is the one thing you can’t do without on raceweekend?My partner Lucia
What song/music genre do you listen to or routine you do toget into the ‘zone’ before a race?Can’t listen to anything as I’m too consumed getting the bike ready to race
Who is your sports idol? And why?William Dunlop – he was a genuine guy on and off the track and I aspire to be and do the same
What social media platforms do you use?Facebook – Darren McGrath
Intagram – mc.grath91
Snapchat – darrenmc91