News / Media
  • Home

Agius Snatches Supersport 300 Title in Final Race

Senna Agius has sensationally snatched the YMI Supersport 300 Championship at the death, scoring a second and a first-place finish in today’s two races to overhaul Max Stauffer in the very last race of the season.

Both today’s races featured the nose-to-tail pack racing and relentless swapping of positions that have characterised the category over the last few seasons. In Race 2, Agius led out of the final corner but was slipstreamed by Luke Jhonston on the run to the finish line, but in Race 3, Agius asserted himself, taking the win by a bike length from Hunter Ford and Seth Crump.

Stauffer looked to have minimised the championship damage when he finished fourth in Race 2, and he again ran in the lead pack in Race 3. But he was shuffled back to fifth on the run to the finish line, and denied of the championship by a solitary point.

Newly-crowned champion Agius said he knew the race win was vital in enabling him to challenge for the title.

“On the last lap, I was seventh heading into the first corner, and I thought ‘I have to make something special’ – I put my head down, and by Turn 9 I was in first,” he said.

“It was a bit risky leading out of the last corner, because I got slipstreamed to the line in Race 2, but I just took a breath, hoped I could get there and I got it done.

“I love ASBK, it’s fun racing and associating with all the competitors.”

Ford tried to play a tactical game on the final lap of Race 3, but fell just short.

“I just wanted to beat Senna – he wanted to let me past the whole last lap but I wasn’t having it… but then I couldn’t quite pass him before the line,” Ford said.

Third-placed Seth Crump said he was hoping for wet weather.

“I would have preferred rain, I think I would have had a better chance,” Crump said.

“But the bike was going well in the last race, and it was a good way to finish the weekend.”

Agius took the overall round win ahead of Jhonston and Ford.

YMI Supersport 300 – Points after Round 7

1. Senna Agius – 384

2. Max Stauffer – 383

3. Hunter Ford – 309

4. Seth Crump – 293

5. Yannis Shaw – 285

6. John Lytras – 277

7. Brandon Demmery – 254

8. Zac Levy – 243

9. Luke Jhonston – 216

10. Ben Baker – 206