News / Media
  • Home

ASBK takes you Behind the Fairings with 2018 #GhostImages

If Round 1 of the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli (ASBK) is anything to go by, any of the six major teams could take out the 2018 title. The battle between the teams is heating up and ASBK takes you behind the fairings and gives you the inside look at six Superbikes, as we prepare for Round 2 at Wakefield Park Raceway, March 16-18. 

Team Suzuki ECSTAR
Team Suzuki ECSTAR caught the attention of the nation and world last year when they sensationally won the championship with the brand new GSX-R1000R, in its first year of competition. Josh Waters pulled off an incredible upset in the second half of the 2017 championship, ultimately clinching the title at the last round of the season. The team is owned and run by former racer Dale Brede and operate out of Canberra.

Mark Chiodo joins defending champion Josh Waters, competing in the premier YMI Superbike class aboard Phil Tainton Racing (PTR) prepared machinery for 2018.

As the bike that produced Australia’s Champion last season, everyone will be looking to take the fight to this powerhouse of a team.

Riders: Joshua Waters​, Mark Chiodo​
Team Manager: 
Dale Brede
Model: Suzuki Motorcycles Australia​ GSX-R1000R
Engine: 999.8cc Inline-four
Chassis Type: Aluminium cast and extruded perimeter frame
Top Speed (2018 Pre-season Official ASBK Test): 293 KM/PH
Suspension Race spec: Showa
Tyres Race: Pirelli
Brakes Race spec: Brembo​
Exhaust Race spec: Yoshimura 

To download the Team Suzuki ECSTAR Ghost Bike image for your wallpaper click here.

Yamaha Racing Team
The Yamaha Racing Team is the tip of the spear for Yamaha Australia’s Road Race efforts. The team have raced the YZF-R1 in the ASBK for almost 20 years. Run and managed by John Redding, the professionalism and respect for the team around the paddock, knows no bounds.

For the 2018 season, the team have signed 2013 YMI Superbike Champion, Wayne Maxwell and young spark Daniel Falzon. With the brand-new duo teaming up for this year’s season, it’s going to be fascinating to see who comes out on top. It’s also worth noting that the team also welcomes back Cru Halliday, who will race the brand new YZF-R6.

Riders: Wayne Maxwell​, Daniel Falzon
Team Manager: John Redding (JR)
Model: Yamaha Motor Australia​ YZF-R1M
Engine: 998 cc, in-line four-cylinder, cross-plane crankshaft
Chassis Type: Aluminum Delta Box Frame
Top Speed (2018 Pre-season Official ASBK Test): 288 KM/PH
Suspension Race: Öhlins Racing AB​
Brakes Race: Advics
Exhaust Race: Akrapovic Exhaust System​

To download the Yamaha Racing Team Ghost Bike image for your wallpaper click here.

DesmoSport Ducati
If you’ve followed the ASBK, no doubt you’ve heard of DesmoSport Ducati and/or Cube Racing from Queensland. Ben Henry, owner, mechanic and tuner at Cube Performance Centre has a vast history of success, with not only his own racing career but his two racing teams.

The team have signed three-time WorldSBK Champion Troy Bayliss for the 2018 season to attack the Championship with the 1299 Panigale R Final Edition.

DesmoSport Ducati’s sister team Cube Racing also has young riders Tom Toparis and Oli Bayliss under its wings.

Rider: Troy Bayliss
Team Manager:
 Ben Henry
Model: Ducati​ 1299 Panigale R Final Edition
Engine:  L-twin
Chassis Type: Cast ali monocoque
Top Speed (2018 Pre-season Official ASBK Test): 284 KM/PH
Suspension Race spec: Öhlins Racing AB​
Tyres Race: Pirelli
Brakes Race: Brembo​
Exhaust: Termignoni​

To download the DesmoSport Ducati Ghost Bike image for your wallpaper click here.

Kawasaki BCperformance
Born out of Team Manager Kelvin Reilly’s passion for racing, Kawasaki BCperformance impressed many last season, with their rider Robbie Bugden being in championship contention until the final race.

Now the team have signed former YMI Superbike Champion, Bryan Staring who has a wealth of experience and took an outstanding victory for the team, at Round 1. The team also retain Kyle Buckley who will be looking to take the next step, after an up and down rookie season.

BCperformance also incorporate its Junior Team that includes riders such as Benjamin Baker and Giuseppe Scarcella. The program is aimed to bringing young talented riders through the ranks of the ASBK Championship.

Riders: Bryan Staring​, Kyle Buckley​
Team Manager: 
Kelvin Reilly
Model: ZX-10R
998cc, inline four-cylinder
Chassis type: Twin spar, cast aluminium
Top Speed 2018 (Pre-season Official ASBK Test): 293 KM/PH
Suspension: K Tech Suspension
Tyres Race: 
Brakes: Brembo
Exhaust Race: SPARK exhaust

To download the BCPerformance Kawasaki Ghost Bike image for your wallpaper click here.

NextGen Motorsports
The NextGen Motorsports team run by Wayne Hepburn, are no strangers to success in the past, including producing 2014 and 2011 ASBK Champions.

Now the team will be looking to reclaim championship success. The signing of three-time YMI Superbike Champion Glenn Allerton, shows the direction the team is going. Allerton won his last ASBK title aboard the NextGen Motorsports BMW and will mentor 2017 Australian Supersport Champion Ted Collins.

Riders: Glenn Allerton​, Ted Collins
Team Manager: Wayne Hepburn
Engine: 999cc Inline-Four
Chassis Type: Aluminium composite bridge frame
Top Speed (2018 Pre-season Official ASBK Test): 291 KM/PH
Suspension: Nitron Suspension Australia​
Tyres Race: Pirelli
Brakes Race: Brembo                                                                                                                                                                                                        Exhaust: Devil

To Download the NextGen Motorsport BMW Ghost Bike image for your wallpaper click here.

Penrite Honda
The brand-new Honda Racing factory team operated by ER Motorsports has enlisted 2016 YMI Superbike Champion Troy Herfoss to take out the championship with the CBR1000SP1. Herfoss and Penrite Honda got off to a great start picking up the race one victory and placed third overall to kickstart their 2018 ASBK campaign.

Run by Team Manager Shaun Clarke, the outfit are operated out of a purpose-built facility in Altona.

Rider: Troy Herfoss
Team Manager: Shaun Clarke
Model: CBR1000SP1
Engine: 999.8cc, Inline four
Chassis type: Aluminum
Top Speed (2018 Pre-season Official ASBK Test): 284 KM/PH
Suspension: K-Tech Suspension
Tyres: Pirelli
Brakes race specs: Brembo​                                                                                                                                                                                  Exhaust: Akrapovic

To download the Penrite Honda Ghost Bike image for your wallpaper click here.

Can’t make it to the track this weekend? Then make sure to watch ASBK action on SBS Live and Free 1pm-3pm AEDT, Live on Fox Sports 1pm-4pm or Live Stream, from 9:30 AEDT Sunday March 18.

2018 ASBK Calendar
Round 2- Wakefield Park Raceway, Goulburn NSW                             March 16 – 18
Official ASBK Test, The Bend Motorsport Park, Tailem Bend, SA       April 3-4
Round 3- The Bend Motorsport Park, Tailem Bend, SA                        April 19 – 22
Round 4- Hidden Valley Raceway, Darwin NT                                      June 28 – 1 July
Round 5- Morgan Park Raceway, Warwick QLD                                   August 17 – 19
Round 6- Winton Motor Raceway, Benalla, VIC                                   September 7 – 9
Round 7- Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC                                  October 12 – 14

Photos courtesy of Andrew Gosling tbg sport