News / Media
  • Home

Locky Taylor Looking Strong for YMF R3 Cup

Locky Taylor (Shark Leathers, Yamaha YZF-R3) had a cracker of a Friday here at presents Round 7 Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit of the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli (ASBK). Competing in both the Australian Supersport 300 Championship and the YMF R3 Cup, Taylor has his eyes set on victory over the course of the weekend.

Clearly on a mission to move on up from fourth to third position overall in the Championship, Taylor needs to cover an 8.5 point difference and his performance today is a clear indicator for his plan over the weekend.

Chomping at the bit behind Taylor was current leader of the YMF R3 Cup scoreboard, Hunter Ford (Yamaha, Yamaha YZF-R3) who scored a fastest lap time of 1:49.908. The ‘Podium Hunter’ Ford remained fairly subdued in today’s practice for the Australian Supersport 300 Championship, however his performance in the YMF R3 Cup saw him lean into the sweeping corners at ‘The Island’ and get more comfortable with his surroundings.

Behind the ‘Podium Hunter’ Ford was Callum O’Brien (Banhams WA, Yamaha YZF-R3) who scored the third fastest lap time of 1:50.375.

Sitting in third position overall in the 2018 season is Tom Bramich (JLT, Yamaha YZF-R3) who today proved again that his consistency and strength has no equal. Bramich clocked in a fastest lap time today of 1:50.384, replicating his successful game plan enacted in the Australia Supersport 300 Championship.

Zane Ford (Yamaha, Yamaha YZF-R3) came in hot after Bramich, and adopted a similar approach using his practice time in the Supersport 300 to perfect his attack on ‘The Island’ in time for the YMF R3 Cup. Ford fastest time for the day was a 1:50.453.

YMF R3 Cup Friday Practice Top Ten Provisional Results
1. Locky TAYLOR (Shark Leathers, Yamaha YZF-R3) 1:49.512
2. Hunter FORD (Yamaha, Yamaha YZF-R3) 1:49.908
3. Callum O’BRIEN (Banhams WA, Yamaha YZF-R3) 1:50.375
4. Tom BRAMICH (JLT, Yamaha YZF-R3) 1:50.384
5. Zane FORD (Yamaha, Yamaha YZF-R3) 1:50.453
6. Zac LEVY (Puma RV’s, Yamaha YZF-R3) 1:50.549
7. Tayla RELPH (Baldivis Forklifts, Yamaha YZF-R3) 1:50.862
8. John LYTRAS (Caboolture Yamaha, Yamaha YZF-R3) 1:50.977
9. Max STAUFFER (Rock Oil, Yamaha YZF-R3) 1:51.034
10. Harry KHOURI (Excite M-sports, Yamaha YZF-R3) 1:51.325

See the ASBK action Live Trackside!! Buy Your ASBK Round 7 Tickets Here 

Stay up to date with all the latest news and updates from ASBK by liking ASBK on Facebook, following the @asbk on Instagram and checking out the ASBK website here. To purchase your tickets for ASBK head to

Remaining 2018 ASBK Calendar Rounds
Round 7- Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC                                  October 12 – 14

Photos courtesy of Andrew Gosling – tbg sport