News / Media
  • Home

Official ASBK Test Complete – Riders Fired Up For 2020

Thursday, January 30, 2020

Day-two of the Official ASBK Test is complete with riders setting sizzling lap times with Ducati Boost Mobile rider Wayne Maxwell setting a personal best time of 1:31.776 at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, setting up a tantalising 2020 mi-bike Motorcycle Insurance Australian Superbike Championship, presented by Motul.

Maxwell was consistently fast throughout the Official ASBK Test straight out of the gate, sending a strong warning to his competitors that he has adjusted to his new ride superbly.

2019 ASBK Champion and Desmosport Ducati Mike Jones was just behind Maxwell, with a 1:32.434 and 2018 ASBK Champion Penrite Honda’s Troy Herfoss with a time of 1:32.497.

Yamaha Racing Team’s Aidan Wagner was fast over the two days but suffered a fall midway through the second day and ended up at hospital getting scans for a potential injury.

Based on times set over the two days the 2020 Kawasaki Superbike class is going to be a fierce battle.

In the Motorsports TV Supersport class, it was 2019 ASBK Supersport Champion Tom Toparis with the fastest lap time of 1:36.185, and a very impressive second was Jack Hyde aboard his SSS Developments Yamaha with a 1:36.469, and third Nic Liminton aboard his Yamaha backed ride with a time of 1:36.605.   

Jack Hyde was impressive – Photo by Russell Colvin

In the combined YMI Australian Supersport 300 and Yamaha Motor Finance R3 Cup, WorldSSP 300 Kawasaki rider Tom Bramich, was consistently fast over the two-day test with a fastest time of 1:48.418, followed by Yamaha Excite Motorsports rider Harry Khouri who was also in blistering pace over the two days with a time of 1:48.614, and third fastest was the Bike Vault Kawasaki rider Luke Jhonston with a time of 1:48.639.

Harry Khouri is one to watch in 2020 – photo by Russell Colvin

In the bLU cRU Oceania Junior Cup is was young gun Marianos Nikolas with a scorching time of 2:11.760, Angus Grenfell in second with a time of 2:11.948 and Cameron Swain with a time of 2.12.014.

Oceania Junior Cup battle was intense

All four class time results are available at

Competitors in the mi-bike Motorcycle Insurance Australian Superbike Championship, presented by Motul, are excited and champing at the bit heading into the first round of the championship at the FIM Superbike World Championship February 27, 2020.

2020 ASBK Calendar

Round 1: WorldSBK – Phillip Island, VIC February 27-March 1

Round 2: Wakefield Park, NSW March 27-29

Round 3: The Bend, SA May 7-10

Round 4: Barbagallo Raceway, WA May 15-17 

Official ASBK Test – Morgan Park, QLD July 28-29

Round 5: Morgan Park, QLD August 7-9

Round 6: Winton Motorsport Park, QLD September 11-13

Round 7: Phillip Island GP Circuit, VIC October 2-4

Head to for more info about the mi-bike Motorcycle Insurance Australian Superbike Championship, presented by Motul. For the latest updates from the ASBK, follow us on Facebook and Instagram.