News / Media
  • Home

Toparis Challenged by Edwards in Supersport Practice

Champion-elect Tom Toparis may have topped the practice times for the final round of the Motorsports TV Australian Supersport Championship at Sydney Motorsport Park today, but he is expecting a stiff challenge from Tommy Edwards, who was second-fastest for the day.

“It’s good to have Tommy here, he’s had some great results overseas and he’s riding a good bike,” Toparis said.

“We set some personal-best times in practice today, but I think Tommy is going to make us work for it this weekend.”

“It was a super-fun day, but I’m still getting used to the bike,” Edwards said.

“I have a bit of time to find to be matching it with Tom, but I know what I need to work on for qualifying tomorrow. Hopefully I can have some good races with him on Sunday.”

Aidan Hayes was third-fastest ahead of Jack Passfield and Callum Spriggs.

YMI Supersport 300

Senna Agius kick-started his season-ending championship challenge in fine style, ending up with the overall fastest time in today’s practice sessions ahead of Hunter Ford and points leader Max Stauffer.

Agius achieved his best time in the second session; the first session was topped by Yannis Shaw, while Ford was quickest in the third session.

YMF R3 Cup

YMF R3 Cup points leader Hunter Ford topped the first session, but the second and third sessions were led by Max Stauffer, who also ended up with the fastest overall time for the day.

Title contender John Lytras was fifth overall, behind Ben Baker and Brandon Demmery.

bLU cRU Oceania Junior Cup

Today’s three OJC sessions were topped by a different rider; Jacob Hatch was fastest in the first session, while points leader Carter Thompson was quickest in the second session and Max Gibbons topped the third. Hatch ended up with the fastest overall time ahead of Gibbons and Thompson, with title contender Angus Grenfell in sixth.

Superbike Masters

Riding his Yamaha FZR104, Aaron Morris was convincingly the fastest Superbike Masters rider, topping the overall times by almost four seconds from John Allen and Stephen Kairl.The on-track action resumes tomorrow at 9:00am.