News / Media
  • Home

Dunker creates history as Hamod and Swain also score big

By MA Media 0

History was created during the final round of the 2023 mi-bike Motorcycle Insurance Australian Superbike Championship, presented by Motul, when Cameron Dunker became the youngest winner of the Michelin Supersport title since its inception 30 years ago.

And the icing on the cake? Dunker turned 16 on the day of his championship success.

“It’s a dream come true, because at the beginning of the season I had no idea this would be possible,” said a delighted Dunker.

“As the year went on it started to take shape, and me to be champion is something I will be very proud of for many years.

“It has also given me extra confidence I can take into the future. I’d like to thank my team, my family and everyone else who has been a part of this journey. It’s going to take a while to sink in.”

Herfoss steals the show to make it ASBk title N0.3
Sensational Schmidt wraps up Oceania Junior Cup at The Bend

Coming into the round Dunker (GTR Moto Stars Yamaha YZF-R6) was in a title fight with South Australians Olly Simpson (Simpson Crash YZF-R6) and Ty Lynch (AMR Sports YZF-R6). Adding to the spectacle was the return of some fast Aussies from overseas, led by 17-year-old Harrison Voight.

In race one, Voight led off the line but it wasn’t long before Simpson muscled his way into the lead with the knowledge that he had to win both races for any chance of wresting the title from Dunker’s grasp. Dunker was smart letting them duke it out, quite content to watch the drama unfold in front of him.

Voight won the race from Simpson by just 0.019sec after overtaking him on the drag to the line.

The final race of the year was almost a mirror image of the opener as Simpson and Voight diced with each other and Dunker eventually settled into fourth behind Jonathan Nahlous (Complete AV YZF-R6) to wrap up the championship.

Voight won again from Simpson to make it a perfect weekend with pole position, a lap record and two race wins.


Cameron Dunker

Marcos Hamod is the 2023 Supersport 300 champion after a 3-1-1 scorecard in the final round saw him finish on 327pts, just in front of Cameron Swain (323). Brandon Demmery (300pts) was third.

Swain was initially awarded the championship before a protest was lodged against him for passing under a yellow flag in race two. The protest was upheld, and Swain was demoted from first to second in the race – and by the same spot in the championship.

Swain wasn’t left empty-handed, though: he won the Yamaha Finance R3 Cup after 1-1-5 results over the weekend. He finished on 297pts, from Brodie Gawith (287) and Henry Snell (276).

Gawith was second in all three races, with Hamod, Jordy Simpson and Snell filling the podium places.

Marcos Hamod

Swain (#26) and Gawith (#13)

Keo Watson (Yamaha FZR1000) already had the overall title in his keeping, and he finished first and second on Sunday to increase his lead in the final standings to a whopping 77pts (228 to 151) over Murray Clark (Suzuki GSX-R1127), with Ryan Taylor (Suzuki GSX-R1100, 138) in third.

Today’s race two was won by David Johnson (Suzuki Katana), while Garry McCoy (Yamaha TZ750) also finished on the podium.

Superbike Masters