Alpinestars SUPERBIKE

Australia’s Superbike category is the premier road racing class in the nation, start grids are often filled with up to 40 Superbike machines per single race. Unlike MotoGP bikes that are produced as one-off prototypes, the Superbikes are based on production road going motorcycles that are readily available for domestic purchase. Based on the World Superbike Championship/World Superstock concept, ASBK’s Superbike class runs production based machines with limited modifications allowed to reduce the cost of running the machinery. The formula also opens up opportunity for privateers to keep the factory teams honest. In order to race a particular manufactured motorcycle in this class, there must have been at least 20 production units sold to the public within Australia.

Meeting safety prerequisites is imperative. The removal of headlamps, blinkers, passenger foot pegs is a prerequisite, and bikes must meet strict weight requirements as stipulated in the Manual of Motorcycle Sports (MoMS)



  • No less than 20 Production machines of a particular make and/or model must have been imported into Australia by the manufacture or the Australian distributor representing the manufacturer.
  • 1000cc for four cylinder machines or 1300cc for two or three cylinder machines
  • No less than 168kgs for four cylinder machines and 172kg for two or three cylinder machines
  • Has headlamps, blinkers, passenger foot pegs and other ancillaries removed
  • Use homologated dry, intermediate & wet racing tyres
  • This is a “High Performance” category
  • Limited modifications are allowed to a machine
  • Production Motorcycle must be available to the public to purchase within Australia (ADR compliant)
  • Age limit 16 years old and over with an MA National licence




Year Championship Winner Machine
1980 Andrew Johnson Kawasaki Z1000 Mk.II
1981 Rob Phillis Suzuki GSX1100
1982 Rob Phillis Suzuki GSX1100
1983 Rob Phillis Suzuki GSX1100
1984 Rob Phillis Suzuki GSX1100
1985 Rob Phillis Suzuki GSX1100
1986 Malcolm Campbell Honda VFR750



Year Championship Winner Machine
1987 Tony Armstrong Suzuki GSX-R750
1988 Rob Phillis Kawasaki GPX750R



Year Championship Winner Machine
1989 Malcolm Campbell Honda RC30
1990 Malcolm Campbell Honda RC30
1991 Aaron Slight Kawasaki ZXR750R
1992 Mat Mladin Kawasaki ZXR750R
1993 Troy Corser Honda RC30
1994 Anthony Gobert Honda RC45
1995 Kirk McCarthy Honda RC45
1996 Peter Goddard Suzuki GSX-R750
1997 Martin Craggill Kawasaki ZX-7RR
1998 Martin Craggill Kawasaki ZX-7RR
1999 Steve Martin Ducati 996RS
2000 Shawn Giles Suzuki GSX-R750
2001 Shawn Giles Suzuki GSX-R1000
2002 Shawn Giles Suzuki GSX-R1000
2003 Craig Coxhell Suzuki GSX-R1000
2004 Adam Fergusson Honda CBR1000RR
2005 Josh Brookes Honda CBR1000RR
2006 Jamie Stauffer Yamaha YZF-R1
2007 Jamie Stauffer Yamaha YZF-R1
2008 Glenn Allerton Honda CBR1000RR
2009 Josh Waters Suzuki GSX-R1000
2010 Bryan Staring Honda CBR1000RR
2011 Glenn Allerton BMW S1000RR
2012 Josh Waters Suzuki GSX-R1000
2013 Wayne Maxwell Suzuki GSX-R1000
2014 Glenn Allerton BMW S1000RR
2015 Mike Jones Kawasaki ZX-10R
2016 Troy Herfoss Honda CBR1000RR SP1
2017  Josh Waters                 Suzuki GSX-R1000R
2018 Troy Herfoss Honda CBR1000SP
2019 Mike Jones Ducati Panigale 1299
2020 Wayne Maxwell Ducati V4R
2021 Wayne Maxwell Ducati V4R
2022 Mike Jones Yamaha YZF-R1