The Supersport class has been one of the most successful feeder catagories into the Superbike class since the late 1990s. With rules similar to those of the Superbikes, the Australian Supersport class is open to 600cc four-cylinders, 675cc three-cylinder and 750cc two-cylinder production based machines. With similar handling characteristics and suspension adjustability to the Superbikes, the Supersport class is an ideal platform for riders to learn and hone race craft and suspension tuning without the brute horsepower of the 1000cc plus Superbike machines.

Running treaded production race tyres rather than the slicks,  featured on the Superbike, the Supersport class also helps develop rider feel and race craft.

Permitted changes include, ECU mapping, rear-set foot controls, exhaust, cam timing, gearing, brakes, clip-on handlebars, and minor suspension modifications among others according to the 2019 MoMS.


  • No less than 20 Production machines of that make and model must have been imported into Australia by the manufacturer or the Australian distributor representing the manufacturer
  • No more than 600cc for four cylinder engines, 675cc for three cylinder and 750cc for two cylinder machines
  • Weight restrictions 162kgs for four cylinder, 165kgs for two and three cylinder
  • Has headlamps, blinkers, passenger foot pegs and other ancillaries removed
  • Use homologated treaded dry & wet racing tyres
  • Limited modifications are allowed to a machine
  • Production Motorcycle must be available to the public to purchase within Australia (ADR compliant)
  • Age limit 16 years old and over with an MA National licence



2006: J. Stauffer

2007: J. O’Halloran

2008: J. Stauffer

2009: B. Staring

2010: T. Herfoss

2011: K. Curtain

2012: M. Carr

2013: D. Falzon

2014: D. Falzon

2015: B. Elliott

2016: T. Guenther

2017: T. Collins

2018: C. Halliday