News / Media
  • Home

2024 ASBK Championship awarded FIM Oceania status

By MA Media 0

The 2024 instalment of the mi-bike Motorcycle Insurance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul (ASBK) has added another layer of recognition via FIM Oceania status.

The FIM Oceania appointment will apply to the Michelin Superport class of the 2024 ASBK Championship, based on points accrued over the final three rounds at Phillip Island (September 7-8), One Raceway (October 4-6) and The Bend (November 8-10).

The event will officially be known as the ‘FIM Oceania Circuit Racing Championship’, with FIM Oceania choosing Michelin Supersport as its outlet to highlight the evolving talent in the class.

The top riders at the end of the three rounds will be officially acknowledged at the ASBK Championship presentation ceremony with an FIM Oceania trophy and medallions.

Tickets on sale for 2024 ASBK Championship at Queensland Raceway
Win a pillion ride with Martin or Corser at Queensland Raceway
Toparis makes a big statement in Sydney
Waters and Halliday the big winners at the ASBK Night Race in Sydney


Motorcycling Australia became the primary promoter of ASBK a decade ago, delivering fresh initiatives, new opportunities, revitalised branding, enhanced broadcasting and more rider and sponsor exposure in a complete overhaul of national-level circuit racing in Australia.

ASBK remains on a rapid growth curve, with the FIM Oceania recognition confirming its benchmark status as the premier circuit racing championship in the Oceania region.

“In 2024, the level of professionalism, buzz and excitement around ASBK is amazing, and the FIM Oceania had no hesitation in acknowledging that success with championship status,” said Peter Doyle, the President of FIM Oceania.

“Moreover, the rejuvenation of the Supersport class in 2024 has been incredible, and the battle to win the FIM Oceania Circuit Racing Championship will certainly be intense across the three rounds.”


The FIM Oceania Circuit Racing Championship is going to be wide open, with the likes of Jonathan Nahlous, Tom Toparis, Jake Farnsworth, Tom Bramich, Olly Simpson, Marcus Hamod, Mark Chiodo, Jack Mahaffy, Archie McDonald, Hayden Nelson and Corey Turner all expected to stake their claim.

Yamaha pair Nahlous and Toparis have been doing all the winning in the Michelin Supersport class so far this year, with the next round of the ASBK Championship to be held at Queensland Raceway from April 26-28.