News / Media
  • Home

Michelin Signs On As Supersport Title Sponsor for ’22

The mi-bike Motorcycle Insurance Australian Superbike Championship, presented by Motul (ASBK) is pleased to announce that Michelin has signed on as the title sponsor of the Supersport Championship for the 2022 season.  

Often affectionately described in the paddock as the “600s”, Supersport’s enduring appeal has been its ability to maintain costs at a manageable level, with bikes predominantly production-spec with limited modifications.

For Michelin, racing has been an integral and critical aspect of the company’s activities, serving not only as a marketing channel but also offering proof-of-concept for the company’s extensive R&D process.

Founded in 1889, the Michelin Group provides tyres to over 170 countries. The Michelin Groumakes tyres locally for customers’ specific needs and road conditions in one of their 69 production facilities around the world.

Doug Sharp, Michelin Australia: “Michelin Australia is proud to support the Supersport Championship, a category which always puts on a great show and has also become a launching pad for riders to create overseas opportunities in WorldSBK, WorldSS and BSB. In recent years, we’ve seen the likes of Oli Bayliss, Tom Toparis, Max Stauffer and Broc Pearson show their talent in the Supersport category.

“We’re sure that 2022 will again deliver great racing and we are all looking forward to the first round of the 2022 ASBK Championship and the Michelin Supersport Championship.”

Motorcycling Australia (MA) CEO Peter Doyle: “Motorcycling Australia are excited to see Michelin throw their support behind Supersport. Supersport is well established as one of the jewel in the crown categories of ASBK, with many riders honing their craft and showing their potential in this fantastic category.”

To get the most out of your motorbike’s performance on the track, go to

mi-bike Motorcycle Insurance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul –
2022 Calendar   

Round 1 Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC 25 – 27 February
SBK, SSPT, SS300, R3 Cup, OJC, SBK Masters

Round 2 Queensland Raceway, Ipswich QLD 18 – 20 March
SBK, SSPT, SS300, R3 Cup, OJC.

Round 3 Wakefield Park Raceway, Goulburn NSW 22 – 24 April
SBK, SSPT, SS300, R3 Cup, OJC, Sidecars

Round 4 Hidden Valley Raceway, Darwin NT 17 – 19 June
* With Supercars – SBK Only

Round 5 Morgan Park Raceway, Warwick QLD 5 – 7 August
SBK, SSPT, SS300, R3 Cup, OJC

Round 6 Symmons Plains Raceway – Launceston TAS 20 – 23 October
SBK, SSPT, SS300, R3 Cup

Round 7 Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, Cowes VIC TBA – November

Round 8 The Bend Motorsport Park, Tailem Bend SA 2 – 4 December
SBK, SSPT, SS300, R3 Cup, OJC

ASBK Night of Champions Dinner – The Bend 4 December

For more information on the Official ASBK test, visit the ASBK Championship website at